Board of Commissioners


  • Monthly on 1st and 3rd Monday at 6:00 p.m. 
  • Jackson County Courthouse
    5000 Jackson Parkway
    Jefferson, GA 30549

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agendas & Minutes


Jackson County is a political subdivision of the State of Georgia governed by a commission-manager form of government under which a six member Board of County Commissioners is elected to serve as the legislative body for the county. The commission chairman is elected at-large, while the remaining five commissioners are elected by geographical districts in which they reside. Elections for the district seats are staggered four year terms, so as to provide some continuity on the Board of Commissioners.

The Board is responsible for establishing policy for county operations, enacting ordinances and resolutions to create and sustain a quality of life that promotes family, business, education, and leisure living.  

Legal Organ

The Jackson Herald is the Legal Organ for Jackson County. All legal notices and governmental listings will appear in this local media located in Jefferson, Georgia.