- Departments S-Z
- Tax Commissioners
Welcome to the Tax Commissioner's office!
The Tax Commissioner's Office in Jefferson is the only location in Jackson County for handling motor vehicle transactions and the billing and collecting of mobile home, timber and property taxes for the County.
Effective September 1, 2022
Jackson County Motor Vehicle Tag/Title Department Office Hours Updated
Monday – Friday
8:00AM – 4:30PM
Employees will be in the office until 5:00PM to:
- Balance Daily Transactions
- Answer incoming calls
- Properly sanitize work stations
While we understand schedules may prohibit you to come into the office between 8:00AM-4:30PM we encourage you to utilize a Limited Power of Attorney that allows someone to come in your place.
That form can be found online at:
Other helpful websites for Motor Vehicle Services:
AVOID THE LINES - RENEW ONLINE TODAY!
Georgia law requires that all auto tags be renewed within the 30 day period prior to the owner's birthday. Those who have obtained Georgia license plates and/or decals during the current year will receive a renewal prebill following year to renew the tag and pay the ad valorem taxes. If you do not receive your renewal at least 30 days prior to your birthday, or is fees are not calculated on the renewal you have received, please call 706-367-6325 and a prebill will be mailed to you or the fees will be given. Always have your tag number available when calling this office. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not exempt you from penalties or fines that may be imposed after the due date.
When possible, renew by mail to avoid long lines!
Purchase of new or used vehicles must also be registered within 30 days. Titles are required on vehicles manufactured in 1986 and newer. Applying for titles and registering a vehicle for the first time requires that you come in person.
New residents must register their vehicles within thirty days of establishing residency in Georgia. A Georgia Driver's License must be obtained before registering your vehicle. Driver's license MUST show proof of county residency. If you are moving from another county you must update your drivers license before registering the vehicle in Jackson County
All mobile homes musts display a current mobile home decal. These annual decals can be obtained in the tax section of this office and are provided upon payment of ad valorem taxes each year. Tax bills for mobile homes are generally mailed in late December and are due by April 1.
Mobile home owners that qualify for homestead exemption will receive their decal in the mail between January 2 and April 1. The homesteaded mobile home tax will be included on the property tax bill at the end of the tear. If you have qualified for homestead and have not received your decal, call this office.
Property taxes for Real and Personal Property are generally mailed in October and have a normal due date of December 20; however, sometimes bills are delayed in being mailed and then the delinquent date would be the day after the due date stated on your bill. Partial payments on taxes are accepted through the due date, but not after. Real property includes tax on land and improvements. Personal property refers to tax on furniture, fixtures, tools, inventory and equipment used in the operation of a business.
Timber Tax/Heavy Duty Equipment
Timber tax and Heavy Duty equipment may be paid directly to this office.